Book Tags

Challenges for 2016: Conclusion

Now that the year will be done in a several hours, I must update my progress with each year-long challenge.

I will keep this in the same order as my post for starting these challenges, except I am adding the Goodreads Reading Challenge to the end since I forgot to add it to the “challenge accepted” post.

Banned Books Challenge 2016

Banned Books Challenge 2016

Hosted by  Christine @ Buckling Bookshelves

Goal: Trouble-Maker (3-5 books)

Actual: Leader of a Revolution (16 books)

“Leader of a Revolution” sounds really good. It’s powerful. I want to do this challenge again next year.

Here are the covers of the challenged books that I read:

banned-2016-p1

banned-2016-p2

Around the World 2016

Around the World

Hosted by Crini @ All About Books

Mini-Challenges

The optional mini-challenges help us achieve our goal in different ways. I choose not to count over the goal number when I exceed the goal.

Read one book for each continent: 5/7

  1. Africa: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  2. Asia: Captive Hearts, Vol. 1 by Matsuri Hino
  3. Australia: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  4. Europe: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne
  5. North America: The Thing about Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

Read one book for each state: 12/50

  1. California: Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko
  2. Florida: Wither by Lauren DeStefano
  3. Georgia: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  4. Idaho: The Boy Who Invented TV: The Story of Philo Farnsworth by Kathleen Krull
  5. Illinois: Mr. Ferris and His Wheel by Kathryn Gibbs Davis
  6. Kansas: The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  7. Massachusetts: The Thing about Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
  8. Nebraska: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  9. New Jersey: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
  10. New York: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer. E. Smith
  11. Pennsylvania: Crow Call by Lois Lowry
  12. Virginia: Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Read one book for each ocean (the character travels across the ocean, no matter how): 3/5 or 3/4

  1. Atlantic Ocean: 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
  2. Indian Ocean: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I assume Liesel had to cross the Indian Ocean to get to Australia, but the book does not say.
  3. Pacific Ocean: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

crossing-oceans

I realized at the end of this year that the goal for this mini-challenge was set at five (by Crini), and I have been trying to figure out when a fifth ocean (the Southern) was added. According to NOAA, the boundaries of the Southern Ocean were proposed in 2000 to the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO), of which the US is a member, but it has not been ratified by IHO. Following IHO’s stance, I met the goal by three-quarters.

Books Set in Capital Cities: 7/6

I am so happy that I did not have to resort to using the capitals of states and provinces in the U.S. and Canada.

  1. Berlin, Germany: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne.
  2. Copenhagen, Denmark: 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson.
  3. Dublin, Ireland: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson.
  4. London, UK: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad.
  5. Paris, France: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey.
  6. Prague, Czech Republic: The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr
  7. Tokyo, Japan: Faithful Elephants by Yukio Tsuchiya, illustrated by Ted Lewin.

Books Set in at least 5 different places: 4/4

I assume places mean the same as it does for the A to Z Challenge, so I will run with different buildings and cities.

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: Omaha,NE; University of Nebraska; a bar in Lincoln, NE; two hospitals in Omaha and Lincoln; Levi’s house; and Cath’s dad’s house
  • 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson: Corfu, Greece; NYC, New York; London, UK; Paris, France; Rome, Italy; Venice, Italy – to name a few
  • The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson: Ghent, Belgium; Curragh, Ireland; Amsterdam, Netherlands; Holyhead, UK; New Jersey; The Channel Tunnel (Chunnel) between the UK and France – to name a few more since many of the places are repeated
  • The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey: New York, New York; The Black Forest, Germany; Greenland; Kyoto, Japan; Shilin Market in Taipei, Taiwan; and a couple fantasy places

Books Set in 2 places from different continents: 4/4

  • The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey: US/Greenland, UK/France/Germany, Taiwan/Japan
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad: Belgium and the Congo
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion: Australia and the US
  • The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith: US and UK

A to Z Challenge: Find a place for each letter in the alphabet: 22/26

It is driving me crazy to keep up with listing the book that each place is in, so I will stick to listing the place. You can check the map for the books set there.

  1. Atlanta, Georgia
  2. Black Forest, Germany
  3. Copenhagen, Denmark
  4. Dublin, Ireland
  5. Edinburgh, UK
  6. Frankfurt, Germany
  7. Ghent, UK
  8. Holyhead, UK
  9. Italy
  10. Jerusalem, Israel
  11. Kyoto, Japan
  12. London, UK
  13. Melbourne, Australia
  14. New York, New York
  15. Omaha, Nebraska
  16. Prague, Czech Republic
  17. _____  Does the land of the Quadlings count?
  18. Rødbyhavn, Denmark
  19. Shilin Market in Taipei, Taiwan
  20. Toronto, Canada
  21. University of Nebraska
  22. Venice, Italy
  23. Weston-super-Mare, UK
  24. _____
  25. _____
  26. _____

Not counting the land of the Quadlings, I have twenty-two places.

Different countries: 25/25 real countries, 5/5 fantasy countries

For the real countries, I visited

  1. Australia: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  2. Belgium: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  3. Canada: The Film Club by David Gilmour
  4. China: Captive Hearts, Vol. 3 by Matsuri Hino
  5. Congo: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  6. Cuba: The Film Club by David Gilmour
  7. Czech Republic: The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr
  8. Denmark: 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
  9. Egypt: Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt by Anne Rice
  10. France: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
  11. Germany: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  12. Greece: The Odyssey by Homer
  13. Greenland: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
  14. Italy: The Aeneid by Virgil
  15. Iraq: Children of War: Voices of Iraqi Refugees by Deborah Ellis
  16. Ireland: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
  17. Israel: Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt by Anne Rice
  18. Japan: Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 1 by Bisco Hatori
  19. Mexico: Migrant by Maxine Trottier, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
  20. Netherlands: 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
  21. Poland: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne (set at Auschwitz)
  22. South Korea: Technically, Korea and then South Korea in When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park
  23. Taiwan: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
  24. United Kingdom: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
  25. United States: Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate.

Fantasy countries are not required, but I read so much fantasy that I wanted to set a goal of reading them. Of the fantasy countries, I visited

  1. The Land of Oz: The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  2. Arcadia: an isolated universe in Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
  3. The Land of Ev: Ozma of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  4. The Land of Faerie: The Changelings by Christina Soontornvat
  5. Demon Realm: Demon Diary, Vol. 1 by Lee Chi-Hyong, illustrated by Kara.

I wish I had figured out a way to make a map for the fantasy lands.

Authors from different countries: 5/5

  • around-the-world-authorsGraeme Simsion – Australia
  • Bisco Hatori – Japan
  • Christina Soontornvat – USA
  • Deborah Ellis – Canada
  • J.K. Rowling – UK

I would like to do the overall challenge again, but I will have to think about which mini-challenges I will participate in. I hope the challenge will run again next year.

Books in Translation Reading Challenge

Books in Translation Challenge

Hosted by Jen @ The Introverted Reader

Goal: Bilingual (7-9 books)

Actual: Beginner (2 books)

While I have read a lot of books, stories, plays and essays in translation, I did not realize until this month that I had to write reviews for each of the books. There is no way I will be able to catch up on the reviews, so the official total is two books (Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 1 by Bisco Hatori and A Bride’s Story, Vol. 1 by Kaoru Mori).

The number of books I actually read, though I can only prove it through Goodreads without reviews, are sixteen. If books were counted this way, I am well above Linguist level (10-12 books). The books in translation that I read are

  1. Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 1-5 by Bisco Hatori (Japanese)
  2. A Bride’s Story, Vol. 1 by Kaoru Mori (Japanese)
  3. The Little Vampire by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg (German)
  4. Captive Hearts, Vol. 1-4 by Matsuri Hino (Japanese)
  5. Enuma Elish (Old Babylonian)
  6. The Epic of Gilgamesh (Akkadian)
  7. The Odyssey by Homer (Greek)
  8. The Aeneid by Virgil (Latin)
  9. Demon Diary, Vol. 1-7 by Kara and a changing cast of illustrators (Korean?)
  10. Dear Pope Francis by Pope Francis (I’m guessing Italian or Spanish), illustrated by the children of the world whose letters are translated as well
  11. The Scar by Charlotte Moundlic (French), illustrated by Olivier Tallec
  12. The Ink Drinker by Eric Sanvoisin (French)
  13. Faithful Elephants by Yukio Tsuchiya (Japanese), illustrated by Ted Lewin
  14. The Storyteller’s Candle/La velita de los cuentos by Lucia M. Gonzalez (bilingual Spanish-English), illustrated by Lulu Delacre
  15. Goodbye Rune by Marit Kaldhol (Norwegian)
  16. The Cherry Orchard by Anton Chekhov (Russian).

There are also the many short stories, essays, and excerpts of writings that I have read over the last year, which Goodreads cannot keep track of. The important thing is that I read the books in the first place, but I dislike that none of this counts unless I write a review.

I will set a goal next year to read more translated books, but I am unsure that I will be able to keep up with posting reviews of them.

2016 Book Blog Discussion Challenge

2016 Discussion Challenge
My Goal: Creative Conversationalist (13-24 posts)

Actual: Discussion Dabbler (8 posts)

I’m proud and disappointed in myself. For pride, I am proud to have broken out of my mold and to be able to write more than reviews and book tags. That makes me want to blog more and read more. For the disappointment, I went on hiatus for half the year, and I was unable to meet the goal.

Here is a list of the discussion posts:

I will try the challenge again next year with a goal of reaching Creative Conversationalist if that is still the name of it.

Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge

Last year I did not meet either goal that I set, so I set the goal for 40 books this year. I was doing well until I signed up for a class that required me to read one hundred books in a semester. I intended to increase my goal by that many, but I never got around to doing it on Goodreads.

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Carrie has
completed her goal of reading
40 books in
2016!
hide

 

One hundred sixty-three books out of forty (408% of my goal). This was a spectacular year of reading, but I wish Goodreads differentiated between books that are short and books that are long.

I like the Goodreads Reading Challenge, so I will do it again next year.


We survived 2016, so have a happy new year!

*All non-challenge images come from Goodreads.

Leave a comment