Book Tags

Reading Challenges for 2017

Happy New Year! I like participating in challenges, so it’s time to announce my year-long challenges. I don’t want to write a bunch of separate posts that all say I am joining [insert name] Challenge. It’s easier to make one post. Here is what I am challenging myself to do this year:

2017 Book Blog Discussion Challenge

2017-discussion-challenge

I am joining the Book Blog Discussion Challenge, hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight. I still want to try for being a Creative Conversationalist, which requires a minimum of 11 posts this year.

This year they are also sending out emails to remind you to check out the posted discussions.

Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge

Last year was a spectacular reading year on Goodreads. I won’t be reading quite as many picture books, so I will set my goal to 60 books because now I will not feel as bad about reading a lot of picture books or graphic novels.

Pages Read 2017 Challenge

pages-read-2017

I am joining the Pages Read challenge, which is hosted by Gina @ Book Dragon’s Lair, because Goodreads does not take the length of books into account. A Shrub (24,000 pages) is a nice ideal, but I will set my goal to 17,000 (Bonsai) since my Goodreads 2016 Year in Books shows that I managed to achieve that.

Banned/Challenged Books Reading Challenge 2017

banned-challenged-books-reading-challenge

This year, the Banned/Challenged Books reading challenge is being hosted by Book Dragon’s Lair. Since I did amazingly in 2016, I am shooting for the Uncontrolled level (13+ books).

2017 10th Annual Graphic Novel & Manga Reading Challenge

2017-graphic-novel-challenge

I am joining the 2017 10th Annual Graphic Novel & Manga Challenge, which is hosted by Nicola. I am setting my goal to the Modern Age level (12 books). I hope this will get me to post reviews of the graphic novels that I read.

The Well Read Pagan Reading Challenge 2017

well-read-pagan-reading-challenge

This year the Domestic Witch is hosting the Well-Read Pagan Reading Challenge, which encourages us to read or reread books concerning Paganism (the ‘P’ is deliberate) or Wicca. It has been a long time since I read a book that concerns Paganism. I will set a goal of two nonfiction Pagan books for this year.

2017 Operation Deepen Faith

operation-deepen-faith

Becky @ Operation Actually Read Bible is hosting 2017 Operation Deepen Faith, and I am opting only for the option to read the Bible, hopefully in a year. I am not sure how well this is going to go, but I usually can’t get passed Exodus for a straight read-through. This makes me wonder about trying to start a spiritual blog again to encourage me to keep doing it.

Read It Again, Sam, Challenge

read-it-again-sam

I am also signing up for the Read It Again, Sam, challenge, which is hosted by Bev Hankins @ My Reader’s Block. The purpose of this challenge is to reread your books and revisit old friends of those books. I am shooting for the Feeling Nostalgic level (8 books).

Back to the Classics Challenge 2017

back-to-the-classics-challenge-2017

Because I am an English major who will probably take the GRE this year, I need to set myself a goal of classics to read. Luckily, Karen K. @ Books and Chocolate is hosting the Back to the Classics Challenge. I will set a goal of meeting six of the twelve available categories.

2017 Picture Book Reading Challenge

2017-picture-book-reading-challenge

Since I took the children’s literature course this fall, I rediscovered a love of picture books. I want to keep reading them, so I am joining the Picture Book Reading Challenge, hosted by Becky @ Becky’s Book Reviews. I am aiming to read 20 picture books for Option 2, which is a checklist.

2017 Library Love Challenge

library-love-challenge

I go to the library and check out books frequently, but I need to get myself to read them. The Library Love Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook and Angel’s Guilty Pleasures, and I am signing up for it with a goal level of Dewey Decimal (12 books).

Reading Challenge Addict

reading-challenge-addict

Finally, I need to include that I am a Reading Challenge Addict. I am looking at eleven challenges (In Flight) to complete, not including this one. This is not so much a challenge as making you complete your reading challenges.

I’m thinking about doing a monthly or bimonthly update for these challenges. Whether or not I do the monthly update, you can watch my progress on the Current Challenges page. If you are interested in previous challenges that I have completed, please check out my page Previous Challenges. Have a happy new year!

4 thoughts on “Reading Challenges for 2017

  1. Oh my goodness, so many challenges! I don’t know if I could manage to follow through with all of these ( I have a pretty terrible track record with resolutions…), but this sounds like the making of a really colourful, diverse reading year with a little bit of everything thrown in, which is perfect!

    1. I know I’ve taken on a daunting task, but I think this will give me incentive to read a lot. I’m not terribly great at completing these challenges, but I’ve done well enough that I think I can do it if I set my mind to it.

Leave a Reply

