Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: Throwback Thursday

It’s time for a #ThrowbackThursday. This week’s theme for Book Traveling Thursdays is to choose a book you read years ago. Looking back to 2014, I read Chocolat by Joanne Harris. It’s about a single woman and her daughter who moved to a sleepy village in France. The woman sells chocolates during Lent, has to deal with the local priest, and concerns herself with some magical forces. I love the novel and its movie adaptation equally.

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme, hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you compare the covers of a book that fits the theme. Then you post the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite and your least favorite. You can link up and find the future themes on the Goodreads page.

Original Cover

Chocolat Original Cover

This is the original cover, released by UK Doubleday in 1999. I love the golden eggs, the knickknacks, and the color scheme. This cover looks rich. It came very close to being my favorite, but it didn’t quite make the cut.

US Covers

Chocolat US Covers
From left to right: Penguin Cover, Movie Cover, and Viking Adult Cover

I own the Penguin cover. It’s pretty, but it hardly represents the novel beyond setting. I will always love the movie cover because I saw and loved the movie first. But I don’t think it is actually representative of the novel. I don’t care for the Viking Adult cover. It looks like nonfiction.

Favorite Cover

Chocolat Black Swan Cover

This cover is from Black Swan in 2007. It reminds me of Claire’s 1945 clothing in Season 1: Episode 1 of Outlander. This is the time period I thought the novel was in because the book was unclear about whether this was in the 50s or the 90s. I could also see Vianne wear those, and I like that it kept the golden eggs.

Least Favorite Cover

Chocolat Swedish Cover

The Swedish cover, here, isn’t particularly horrible. I love peppers, but I would rather see something more candy-related on the cover.

>^..^<

That’s it for this BTT. What do you think of these covers? Have you read or watched Chocolat? Stay cool, and I hope your chocolate doesn’t melt in the heat.

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Throwback Thursday

  1. I absolutely love your favorite cover. I haven’t read the book, but I remember seeing the movie in Italian on a flight when I was ten (I didn’t know what was going on!), but I am thinking maybe I will have to check it out now.

Leave a Reply

