Book Tags

Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017

July was busy with schoolwork. That ate most of my free time for reading and blogging. Most of my reading (for fun) was devoted to Harry Potter Month, which was fun, but I would have liked more time to read novels.

Book Reviews

There were fewer reviews in July, but that will be remedied this month.

Currently Reading

20170802_223033

I am currently reading Day of the Oprichnik, by Vladimir Sorokin, and Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 2, by Sui Ishida. Sorokin’s novel is a Russian dystopian, but most of the focus thus far has been on one member of the oprichnina who has had to brutally raid one nobleman’s home. This volume of Tokyo Ghoul is a continuation of Kaneki’s adapting to life as a ghoul, which can only survive by eating human flesh.

Memes & Book Tags

I devoted less time to BTT this month in favor of Harry Potter Month.

Harry Potter Month

I participated in the 4th Annual Harry Potter Month, hosted by Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows and Faith @ Geeky Zoo Girl, which lasted all through the month of July. I earned points for Ravenclaw.

Points I earned for my house

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's StonePosts

Fanfiction

  • Read all 30 chapters of The Long Defeat by Lomonaaeren = 30 points
  • Read the single chapter of The Elusive Mate by 0idontknow0 = 1 point
  • Read 10 of the 19 chapters of Checkmate by Naadi = 10 points
  • Read all 18 chapters of Family First by Words are a Bewitching Venom = 18 points
  • Read all 12 chapters of A Year’s Temptation by Lomonaaeren = 12 points
  • Read 12 of the 18 chapters of White Lilies by Kuro The Dark Ringmaster = 12 points
  • Read 45 of the 65 chapters of Save Me by Sly Severus = 45 points

Comments

My total points = 173 points

Faith and Micheline will be posting the winner of the House Cup at some point today. If I had to guess, I believe Slytherin will be running away with the House Cup. Congrats to them if that’s the case! If another house won it, congrats to them too!

Note: The post about fiction in the Harry Potter universe also counts towards my discussion posts for the 2017 Book Blog Discussion Challenge.

Reading Challenges

Goodreads Reading Challenge: 41/60

I’m still doing well with this challenge.

Pages Read Challenge: 9,978/17,000

Paradise Lost by John MiltonBack to the Classics Challenge: 4/6

I read Paradise Lost, by John Milton, and it counts as A Classic Originally Published before 1800. Now I need to post the review for this book and the other two books I completed for the challenge.

Banned/Challenged Books Reading Challenge: 6/13

I’m currently at Creeping level, but the number went up with my finishing Paradise Lost.

Graphic Novel Reading Challenge: 8/12

Hostage applies for this challenge.

Library Love Challenge: 14/24

Hostage also helped me move forward on this challenge. I also read Line 135 by Germano Zullo.

Picture Book Reading Challenge: 7/20

30. a book about trains or planes – Line 135 by Germano Zullo, illustrated by Albertine

This Swiss picture book is told by a little girl who is on a train to visit her grandmother in the country. It follows a literal movement from city to country and a personal discovery. The long book has the train travel from left to right all the way through. The line art is beautiful and shows the narrator’s growing imagination. I do not know who the translator is.

Interesting Finds

Some scholars argue that Professor Snape is a trans woman. If you ever need help writing an arguable thesis statement, read this article as an example.

Katy Swift of FAN/FIC Magazine wrote an article describing how Negroni’s Pixar Theory ties to fanfiction writing.

The Anime Man interviewed a light novel author about the light novel industry and specific parts of his new book.

Jo @ Once Upon a Bookcase discussed “The Issues Some People Have with #OwnVoices.” She brings up the fact that a book may be #OwnVoices, and we might not know it because of the author’s right to privacy about their lives. Is this push for #OwnVoices forcing authors to only write about their marginalizations?

On a different note, Fleur Henley tells us to make her click on our reviews. One of the hits she gives is to write a creative title. I have thought about this. Do you guys think that we should write interesting titles for book reviews instead of just the title and author?

You’ve seen it before where bloggers go on hiatus, and maybe you stop following someone when you’ve seen that they haven’t posted in forever. I am guilty of having gone on hiatus without warning or announcement. What if that hiatus is necessary? Pamela Nicole @ Reverie Society explains why blogging slumps are normal and necessary.

Final Thought

There has been a spike in views for the month. Over one thousand views! Thank you all for reading my posts and supporting this blog.

Have a great August! If you can see it, I hope the eclipse is spectacular for you.

5 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017

  1. Congrats on 1000+ views! I always find it encouraging when my views go up. It’s unfortunate that most of your reading was taken up by Harry Potter month, but I suppose it really doesn’t come along that often! Thanks for linking my post x

  2. The Harry Potter event looks like it was a lot of fun. I like seeing all the different ways you could earn points for your house. Re: creative titles for book reviews – I used to just title my reviews “Book Title by Author”, but in the past few months I’ve tried to come up with more creative titles. When I read book reviews, though, the title doesn’t matter much to me – I just like to know which book is being reviewed. A creative title might get me to click on a review for a book that wasn’t already on my radar, but that’s pretty rare.

    1. I pay more attention to the excerpt for a hint about the book or review than I do to the title of the post. I want to try a few creative titles, but I worry about leaving out the title and author of the book. I guess that leaves me to experimentation.

      1. Yes, even when I’m being creative I still like to include the author and title – ex. “Returning to Cambodia in Vaddey Ratner’s Music of the Ghosts”. (Which isn’t really /that/ creative, but it gives you a bit more info about the book than just the author/title would).

Leave a Reply

