Book Tags

Reading Challenge Update: January 2017

January is over, and it is time to update my progress on my reading challenges.

Before I update my progress on the challenges, I have an announcement concerning social media. I am now on Bloglovin’.

I will update my Current Challenges page with numbers (mostly for the Goodreads and Pages Read challenges) every Saturday. This will help with my sanity to keep track of it, and I will continue the monthly updates for now.

Book Blog Discussion Challenge

Hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight

2017-discussion-challenge

I posted one discussion post this month. Ten more to go until I reach my goal.

My discussion post: When Are Vampires Fantasy or Science Fiction?

Other bloggers shared amazing posts in January. I recommend you go over to the January Link-up Page to see all that has been discussed so far in #LetsDiscuss2017.

Goodreads Reading Challenge

goodreads-jan-2017

I have read 12 books out of 60 as Goodreads measures it.

Pages Read Challenge

Hosted by Gina @ Book Dragon’s Lair

pages-read-2017

I’ve made considerable progress on this. I read 3,146 pages in January, a little less that 14,000 from my goal. Maybe I’ll be able to raise my page count goals by the time the semester is done.

Back to the Classics Challenge

Hosted by Karen K. @ Books and Chocolate

four-stories-by-american-women

This one is not official yet because I still need to write the review, but I read a classic by a woman author: Life in the Iron Mills by Rebecca Harding Davis.

Banned/Challenged Books Reading Challenge

Hosted by Book Dragon’s Lair

banned-challenged-books-reading-challenge

I’m at the Ember level. “Ember McLain! Ember McLain!” Thank you, Danny Phantom, for joining the conversation. If you remember Ember’s song or want a refresher, you can listen to the soundtrack version of her song here.

I have read one banned book so far, and it is The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa.

Graphic Novel & Manga Reading Challenge

Hosted by Nicola

2017-graphic-novel-challenge

I have read a couple of graphic novels at this point, but I have only reviewed one of them at this point. That one is The Color of Earth. It counted for more than one challenge! There will be a review soon for the first volume of I Wish… by Hyun-joo Seo.

Library Love Challenge

Hosted by Bea’s Book Nook and Angel’s Guilty Pleasures

img_20170128_143036_581.jpg

I read four library books this month. Two of them have reviews posted: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell and The Color of Earth. I’m working on the reviews for True Letters from a Fictional Life by Kenneth Logan and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling. All were physical books.

Picture Book Reading Challenge

Hosted by Becky @ Becky’s Book Reviews

2017-picture-book-reading-challenge

I’ve three picture books that fit within the challenge option I chose.

4. a book set on a farm or in the country – The Gigantic Turnip by Aleksey Nikolayevich Tolstoy, illustrated by Niamh Sharkey
A farmer plants his seeds, but one turnip grows huge underground. When it comes time to harvest, everyone (man, woman, and animal) tries to pull it out of the ground. It’s a counting book that was read to me years ago.

39. a new-to-you illustrator – Two White Rabbits by Jairo Buitrago, illustrated by Rafael Yocktang
I have never encountered Jairo Buitrago’s writing or Rafael Yocktang’s illustrations before, but I wanted to count this book for a new-to-illustrator. This book features a father and daughter traveling through Mexico to cross the US-Mexico border. Yocktang’s illustrations show the father’s perspective more than the girl’s, creating a second plot.

42. a book celebrating food (cooking, eating, trying new foods, eating healthy) – I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato by Lauren Child
As this category says, Lola is a picky eater. Her brother, Charlie, helps her to like trying new foods. It’s sweet, like the TV adaptation.


There has been no progress on my other challenges. We’ll see what happens next month!

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update: January 2017

    1. Yeah, I am. I worry that I won’t make as much progress in future months because there are a few challenges that I haven’t made any progress on yet. I hope your challenges are going well.

      Like

Leave a comment