Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: Lazy Day

Book Traveling ThursdaysToday is Thursday, and this is my first Book Traveling Thursdays post. Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at The Girl Who Read Too Much. Based on the theme of the week, you pick one book and post the original cover, the cover(s) from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

The theme for this week is a book that you would want to read on a lazy day. Everyone needs a break or a day to relax, so what you want to read on a lazy day.

I would read almost any book if I were in the mood for it or already reading it. I figure that I should pick one that I read partially on a lazy day, which was The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion. Even though it took me a few weeks to read it, I loved every second and did not want to put it down when I had to. It made my lazy day more interesting too.

Original Cover

The Rosie Project Australia

The Rosie Project was published and written in Australia. This is the original Australian cover, published on January 30, 2013. Goodreads does not have a larger size of this cover. I like that the cover shows Don Tillman on his bicycle, dressed in his quirky style.

My Country’s Covers (US)

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion The Rosie Project USA1 The Rosie Project USA2 The Rosie Project USA3 The Rosie Project USA4

The cover on the left is the paperback edition, which is the edition I own and read. Its sequel has a similar cover style. The second and third covers from the left are the covers I saw for months before finding the paperback edition. They are cute and fit the romance genre. The three editions I just mentioned have beautiful graphic appeal and work for marketing purposes.

I never saw the last two covers on the shelves, but I figure that since they are written in English and the publishers are located in the U.S., they must be U.S. editions. Neither of these two covers are appealing, so I’m glad publishers stuck with the first three.

Favorite Cover

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

I might be biased since this is the cover that introduced me to the book. It’s the cover of the edition that I read. I believe this cover is the prettiest, and I like that it incorporates Don and Rosie.

Least Favorite Covers

The Rosie Project Italian
Italian

The Rosie Project Lithuanian
Lithuanian

These are equally the worst covers I found on Goodreads. The major problem with both is that they imply the entire novel is about marriage or a wedding. This is not 27 Dresses! The only real relevance is that Don is also focused on his Wife Project, but the Rosie Project consumes more of his life. The Lithuanian one is made worse because they’re running. Is that to make it an action book or that the groom and bride are late for their wedding? The Italian cover takes the cake, literally, by using a wedding cake topper.

I put the Italian title into Google Translate. L’amore è un difetto meraviglioso means “Love is a wonderful defect.” Sure, it takes the focus off the project that Don starts, but the title is sweet and fits the novel.

I’m excited to participate in future Book Traveling Thursdays. Let me know what you thought of this trip.

NOTE: Images are from Goodreads.

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Lazy Day

Leave a Reply

