Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: A Surprising Book

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much. Every week you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

This week’s theme is a book that surprised you. I am unsure that my surprise at Lauren DeStefano’s Wither is postive, but I was surprised by the relationships between the kidnapped women. They are sister wives with Stockholm Syndrome, but I was surprised that the enslavement of the women is treated as polygamy.

Original/US Cover

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

This is a great cover. I like that we see the girl dressed in fancy clothing. The birdcage with the bird in it is alright for emphasizing being caged. It also makes me think of the title I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.

Favorite Cover

wither-chinese

This is the Japanese cover, and it makes me want to read the book more than the original cover. We have the girl in a fancy dress. I like that she’s drowning in a flask. The metaphors that is giving off. The snake and teddy bear also show more of what is going on in the book. I also like that it retains the line art that makes you focus on certain parts of the cover.

Least Favorite Cover

wither-french

The French cover here is beautiful, but this does not strike me as the novel that it is. It could be dystopian novel, but it strikes me as having something to do with witches because of the moons. The birdcage once again represents the girls’ prisoner status, but that is almost pushing it too much for me. I like the color scheme and the flowers, though.

Which books have surprised you?

Leave a Reply

