Modern Fantasy · Review · Young Adult

Spinner of Secrets by Annie Louise Twitchell | eARC Review

I received this eARC in exchange for an honest review. In this retelling of Rumpelstiltskin, an abused miller’s daughter is sold to the king for her alleged ability to spin straw into gold. She is to be married to the prince if her gold-making skills are proven to be true. In the process, she starts to fall in love with prince and tries to work out how she will accomplish the impossible task of making straw into gold.

Historical Fiction · Modern Fantasy · Review · Young Adult

The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

Synopsis from the Back of the ARC: Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. When she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to die at the stake. Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas… Continue reading The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

Review · Science Fiction

The Pandora Chronicles: Book 1 by Ryan Attard

Synopsis from Goodreads: A nomadic alien species found itself trapped on a new-born Earth billions of years ago. And they were here just long enough to leave a legacy behind – buried in our DNA. 1713 – Captain Jack Finnegan’s remarkable success as a pirate and privateer turns out to be something much deeper. He’ll… Continue reading The Pandora Chronicles: Book 1 by Ryan Attard

Contemporary Realistic Fiction · Review · Young Adult

Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell

Katherine Ewell’s Dear Killer (which I read as an ARC) is about a teenage girl trained to be a hired serial killer. Her trademark? She leaves the letter requesting she kill said victim, but no evidence is left otherwise to indicate her or the letter’s author as the killer. Synopsis from Goodreads: Rule One—Nothing is… Continue reading Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell

Review · Science Fiction · Young Adult

Relic by Heather Terrell

Synopsis via Goodreads The truth will test you… For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down. When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before… Continue reading Relic by Heather Terrell