Book Tags

Project Runway Book Tag [Original]

We’re down to the Final Six in Season 16 of Project Runway, and I want to talk about books and fashion. I haven’t found any tags that have to do with fashion or with this show, so I decided to create the Project Runway Book Tag.

Let me give some background to my love of the show. I’ve been following Project Runway since Season 2, and I watched a significant portion of Season 1. I’ve also watched and enjoyed some of the spin-offs. Last week’s episode was crazy with the revelation of cheating and the judges’ decisions of who to eliminate. In all honesty, I’m glad to see that the show has finally stopped the nonsense of stretching a challenge across two episodes. I love fashion and books.

Project Runway Book Tag

Designers

A Bookstagrammer you follow

I follow @theliteraryllama. I love the chalk drawings because they are unique for every post and for whatever you want to do.

Last weekend I started featuring some of my favorite posts in an effort to answer the unanswerable, "Which is my favorite picture that I've ever done?" ✨ • So I've been breaking it down into subcategories! Last weekend I featured The Ones That Took Forever, designs that took hours of work to complete. ✨ • Today, I wanted to feature my favorite pictures that were really simple, no props or fussy extras. Just some of my favorite drawings with a book or in one case, a drink coaster! ✨ • The Ones Without a Lot of Fuss: ✨ Tiny Pretty Things. I really liked the way my ballerina turned out it in this pic, but more, I just liked the way it photographed. The light was just how I wanted it and picked up the subtle pink perfectly. ✨ Jurassic Park. Okay, I know it's just me, but this photo makes me really happy for one very odd reason. I think it looks like a potato. A T-Rex shaped potato with arms and legs. 😂 But I love it. ✨ The Demogorgon. I drew this one to highlight the awesome Stranger Things waffle drink coaster from @nerdy.post . It was just really fun to draw! That was pretty much it. It was just fun! • Side Note: @nerdy.post has a one time Stranger Things Box on sale now. This is not part of the normal subscription, so if you want it, better hurry before it's gone. ✨ • Thank you everyone who follows and interacts with me day to day. You're all amazing and your kind words always brighten my week. 😘 • • • #bookstagram #demogorgon #tinyprettythings #ballerina #jurassicpark #michaelcrichton #trex #strangerthings #booklover #bookflatlay #bookstagrammer #reading #chalkart #chalkboard

A post shared by Dayle | 🇺🇸 The Literary Llama (@theliteraryllama) on

Models

Name a minor character you love

I think I want to say Max Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments series. He was cute, and he was one of those deaths that wasn’t fair.

Heidi Klum

A series you said “Auf Wiedersehen” to or a book you DNFed

Nevermore

I had to say goodbye to the Maximum Ride series. At first, I thought it was over forever with Nevermore because it said, “R.I.P. Maximum Ride.” Then James Patterson kept writing more books for the series. I can’t keep up with what’s happening anymore because I thought Nevermore was a good end. Auf Wiedersehen, Maximum Ride.

Nina Garcia

A cliche you are tired of seeing

I am tired of seeing the female YA protagonists always pursuing art as a career. There isn’t anything wrong with it, but I would like to see more of them pursuing STEM. Female young adults in real life pursue both paths, so I would like to see more of that representation.

Zac Posen

A resource* on writing

*Let me clarify that “resource” can mean a book, a website, or a mentor. Whatever you consider a resource fits for this part of the tag.

I’m going with Writing with Color. This blog is dedicated to writing and to providing advice centered on racial, ethnic and religious diversity. They offer advice, book recommendations, and guides. If you have a question, they will do their best to answer it. I love reading the answers too.

Michael Kors

A dead character you would like to bring back

I would like to bring Rudy Steiner from The Book Thief back.

giphy1

 

Tim Gunn

Name a “make it work” moment in a reading challenge or a writing project

giphy2

In Children’s Literature we had to read a minimum of 100 books (at least 12 had to be chapter books). Some other projects for the class forced me to read more than that. Even though I was on top of my reading, it felt like a mad dash to complete the readings for the final project.

The Unconventional Materials Challenge

A book that took you out of your comfort zone

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda LovelaceI’m not used to reading memoirs- or novels-in-verse, so I’m going with The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace. Mind you, this wasn’t the first time I had ever read something like this. For example, I read Ellen Hopkin’s Rumble when I was a college freshman. This was the first one that showed me the magic of more contemporary styles of poetry. It even makes me want to try writing poetry, and I love writing prose.

The Team Challenge

Your favorite team or group of friends

Ouran Host Club Wallpaper 1

I love the Host Club in Ouran High School Host Club. I love their support for each other and how they learn from each other. They’re a great group of friends. Their antics in the anime and the manga make me smile.

Bonus for the subject of this tag: The Hitachiin Twins are the sons of a fashion designer.

The “Real Person” Challenge

A book dealing with body image

The book that comes to mind for me is Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies by Erin Dionne. It’s a little on-the-nose for one of the current issues in this season of Project Runway, but it teaches the idea of all body sizes and shapes being beautiful. Moral of the story: Be confident in yourself and ignore the haters.

The Pattern Challenge

Show us your spine poetry

I love spine poetry, but I have little experience making it. Here’s one that I made recently:

20171013_223432.jpg

New York Fashion Week

Pick three books and explain how they are related

*The books can be connected in any way, including appearance. What matters is that you explain how they are tied together.

The Core of the Sun Johanna Sinisalo, The Mistress of Spices by Chitra Divakaruni, and Chocolat by Joanne Harris

My three books for New York Fashion Week are The Core of the Sun by Johanna Sinisalo, The Mistress of Spices by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, and Chocolat by Joanne Harris. Their common thread is peppers. The Core of the Sun focuses on capsaicin (the active ingredient found in peppers) as a drug, The Mistress of Spices uses chillies to ward off evil, and Chocolat uses cayenne pepper in Vianne’s Spiced Hot Chocolate.

I tag

If I did not include you in this list and you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged.

2 thoughts on “Project Runway Book Tag [Original]

Leave a Reply

