Book Tags

Time and Place Book Tag

Time and Place Book Tag

There are some things that we will always associate with a specific time and place in your life. Sometimes, those things are books. The point of the Time and Place Book Tag is to recall those books that you associate with a specific time and place in your life. Jen Campbell created the tag, and I found it over at Thrice Read Books.

1. White Is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi

White Is for Witching by Helen OyeyemiWhite Is for Witching is about this girl’s family where the house possesses and kills every woman in the family. In Dover, this girl has to deal with the effects of the house, her twin brother, and a love interest in college.

This was the first novel I analyzed in college. I remember the classroom, my instructor, and my classmates. The first thought I had from the first few pages of the book was “What is a witch?” (in the context of the book). This led to me to the topic of my final paper. Really, this book helped me realize that I wanted to major in English.

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsThis is the book that ends the main Harry Potter series, according to me. Harry and Voldy duke it out because “neither can live while the other survives.” Is the ending a spoiler for anyone at this point?

I didn’t become a fan of Harry Potter until the year the last book came out. I had started reading the series toward the end of 5th grade, and I read through the first six books twice before Deathly Hallows came out. I remember when I got the book. This was the only time I got to go to a Harry Potter midnight release party. I remember waiting in line with the last bracelet (#50) for the second round of bracelets, which I think were silver. Everyone was dressed up, and the line wrapped around the entire mall outside Waldenbooks. Everyone was dressed up. I also remember the woman in front of me who couldn’t stand for long periods, so the store was nice and gave her a place to sit up front and gave her her copy of the book when it was her turn. It took me four days to read the book, which I was very proud of.

3. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

City of Heavenly Fire CoverCity of Heavenly Fire book is the sixth and final installment of The Mortal Instrument series. Clary’s evil brother continues to do evil things, like forcefully turning the Shadowhunters into nightmarish beings who are now willing to destroy their families. The level of evil has reached a point that darkness has descended upon the Shadowhunter world. Their only hope of stopping her brother is to enter the demon worlds.

I remember having run to Walmart the day it was released and reading it all in one day. My AP Lit teacher was annoyed that I was reading it during class. I had to know what happened! I’d been waiting for it. Later that day, I found myself reading it at the coffee shop I always went to. I couldn’t put it down, and I was absorbed in the drama, the evil and the story. I finished reading it about half an hour before closing. I also had Zedd’s “Clarity” stuck in my head for the last half of the book.

4. The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Road CoverIt would be remiss of me to not talk about The Road by Cormac McCarthy. The Road is a postapocalyptic novel about a boy and his father walking through burnt America, struggling to survive. The winters are grey, and they are trying to reach the coast. All they have are a pistol to protect themselves from lawless bands, the clothes on their backs and each other.

I finished reading this book the day before my dad died. I knew the ending from having watched the movie, and that made my dad’s death all the harder. It’s an amazing novel that I refuse to part with now.

5. Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba, illustrated by  Takeshi Obata

Death Note Box SetTo stick with the theme of death, the next book (series) in this list is Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by  Takeshi Obata. The manga series is about a straight-A student, Light Yagami, who is bored until he finds the Death Note, which increases the lifespan of its death god by killing humans. Light decides to use the Death Note to kill every evil person on the planet. Before long, the police catch on to the murders and try to find the murderer with the guidance of the best detective in the world.

The books in this series were the first manga I ever read. I remember reading it in sixth grade. Two of my classmates had the series, and everyone was borrowing the books from them. It also introduced me to its anime adaptation, which aired on Adult Swim at the time. I love this series, and I’d like to reread it some time.

6. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

TwilightTwilight, by Stephenie Meyer, is about an Arizona girl, Bella, who moves to Forks, Washington, and falls for the mysterious boy who doesn’t eat at lunch. She pieces the clues together and realizes he’s a vampire. She falls “irrevocably in love” with him. Issues arise when he introduces her to other vampires, who don’t understand how food can be a mate. Let’s also remember that he has mostly pulls Bella away from friends and family.

This book got me into vampire books and (I believe) YA. I hadn’t gotten so excited about a book series since Harry Potter. It was fun to read, and I reread the series. It was also a major point of socialization because I could talk excitedly with friends about books.

7. Northern Lights (a.k.a. The Golden Compass) by Philip Pullman

Northern Lights by PullmanThe first installment in Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials, Northern Lights is about a girl named Lyra, who overhears some information about dæmons’ eventual settling on one form and the basic particle of the universe: Dust. When her friend, Roger, is kidnapped, she and her dæmon are determined to find him. They encounter flying witches, armored bears, and evil scientists. She also encounters experiments with Dust that might have consequences that extend to other worlds.

I remember being in the junior high library with a couple of my friends. I had either started reading or was getting ready to start reading The Golden Compass (the title of that edition). They were upset that I was going to read it because “dæmons,” which they meant in the sense of “demons,” are in it. They worried it was another demonic book, like the churches were still purporting about Harry Potter. I read it anyway, and I loved it. I’ve wanted to re-read it for a few months now.

8. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

The School for Good and Evil by Soman ChainaniFairy tales are loved in the village of Galvaldon, but they have a mysterious connection to an old man and the two children who are kidnapped every year. Sophie wants to be kidnapped so she can become the next fairy tale princess, after attending the School for Good. Her friend, Agatha, wants to stay in the village, though she looks like a perfect fit for the School for Evil. They are kidnapped and then find themselves in the wrong schools. At least, as Sophie sees it. Sophie fights to switch them into the right schools while Agatha tries to get them home. In The School for Good and Evil, they find disturbing things in both schools, deal with a love interest, and find out who they really are.

My clearest memory of this book was seeing it in my university’s bookstore in my first semester. I was looking for things to read that I hadn’t seen in my hometown, and the story sounded so appealing to me. I also remember looking at the first few pages and seeing the beautiful illustrations in it.

9. Boo by Rene Gutteridge

Boo by Rene GutteridgeBoo is Christian fiction about a horror fiction writer and the local girl-next-door. The writer made Skary, Indiana, famous with his writing, but he has quit writing horror and wants to date this nice girl in town. One woman sets out to scare the writer out of love and into writing horror again.

I remember borrowing this from a close friend in junior high. I remember standing outside the transfer buses as we were going home, and this friend handed me the book immediately after getting it back from our friend who had also borrowed it from her. I think it was in the spring when the snow had thawed some.

10. Saga, Vol. 1, by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples

Saga Vol 1The first volume of Saga follows what happens to two soldiers from opposite sides of the war who dared to make a baby together. Now leaders in the war have ordered the deaths of all three. They need to survive.

This is another one that I read for class and that helped me realize that I wanted to major in English. I specifically remember we were discussing the book in class when someone analyzed a set of panels dealing with this ruler of a planet. I remember them explaining this analysis about what it means for this character who has a TV for a head to have certain things happen with his screen face.

I Tag

That’s it for this tag. Until next time!

4 thoughts on “Time and Place Book Tag

  1. This tag is SO FUN. I seriously love it (and I might steal it, though I will definitely link to you, of course!) Because yes- some books are just… inked in your memory, and almost define a time period in your life. The story about The Road was so touching, and I am so very sorry about the loss of your father ♥♥ I think this shows how powerful books really can be, with how they can bring you back so vividly to a certain time. Love this, thanks so much for sharing it!

    1. Thank you for your condolence. He died three years ago. This book is an example of those memories tied to a specific object and story. You are absolutely free to do the tag, and I can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

