Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: Book That Originally Had a Yellow Cover

“If a June night could talk, it would probably boast it invented romance.”

Bernard Williams

This week’s Book Traveling Thursdays asks for a book that originally had a yellow cover, so I chose Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice.

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme, hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you compare the covers of a book that fits the theme. Then you post the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite and your least favorite. You can link up and find the future themes on the Goodreads page.

Original Cover

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

This fits the yellow bill. I don’t love or hate the cover of this edition, but I like the typography. The title and content were enough to capture the hearts of readers. I have a copy that looks similar to this because I tend to favor original editions.

Other US Covers

Interview with the Vampire US Covers

There are a lot of US covers for Interview with the Vampire, so I’m only going to show a few. The cover on the left, published one year after the original cover, has been floating around in thrift book sales. I think it gets the subject-matter across, but it’s not my favorite. The middle cover looks like the pocket-size edition I used to own. I like the candles and the leafy pattern. The right cover is stunning, as it should be for a 20th Anniversary edition. I love that it shows the coffins, the picture of Claudia, the gloves and cane that Lestat wears in the movie, and the roses for showing mourning. It wonderfully encapsulates Louis’s interview.

Honorable Mention Cover

Interview with the Vampire Georgian Cover

The Georgian cover here is wonderful for focusing on the fact that the interview is recorded on cassette tapes. This is appealing for a contemporary audience too.

Favorite Cover

Interview with the Vampire Vietnamese Cover

The Vietnamese cover here is beautiful. I like the style of using a man’s silhouette to frame a city. The fire around the man shows Louis’s thoughts about his damnation. I also like the two figures in the street. I wonder it represents the two male vampires, Lestat and Claudia, or Louis and Claudia. The entire illustration is perfect. If this cover was put on an English edition, I would buy it.

Least Favorite Cover

Interview with the Vampire French Cover

While I can appreciate a portrait to fit the time period most of this book is set in, I don’t see what this boy has to do with the book. He looks like a young teen boy, which I don’t envision either Louis or Lestat to be. The only character who is very young is Claudia, and she is not represented on this cover.

>^..^<

That’s it for this BTT! What do you think of the covers for Interview with the Vampire? What books that have yellow covers do you like? Let me know in the comments, and have a wonderful day!

 

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Book That Originally Had a Yellow Cover

Leave a Reply

