Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book I Want to Read Repeatedly

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme, hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you compare the covers of a book that fits the theme. Then you post the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite and your least favorite. You can link up and find the future themes on the Goodreads page.

The theme for this week is a book that I want to read repeatedly. I would like to say Carry On, but I have reread Cassandra Clare’s City of Lost Souls a couple of times now. I’ve been tempted to read it yet again because I want to see the interactions between Clary, Jace and Sebastian.

Original/Favorite Cover

City of Lost Souls

I love this cover. I love the interaction between Clary and (I think that’s) Jace. Their poses and expressions show so much of the story, and I love the effects to make the runes and to make Clary’s hair fiery. The costumes also match the outfits worn by the characters.

US Covers

There’s the original cover again and the cover that was made to match the re-branding of the series. I haven’t cared for the newer US covers. I like the action and the clear focus on what they do, but I’m disappointed that it’s Sebastian only on the cover.

Least Favorite Covers

The Italian cover (left) makes me think of a supernatural novel where the girl is falling for a dead man who intends evil on her. It looks like a different story. I also can’t figure where the green scratch marks on her face came from. The Serbian cover (right) looks lackluster and dated, by U.S. standards. Putting those two characters like that makes me think of a friendship and not the content of the actual book. It also reminds me of a TV show that was canceled mid-season. But I do find it interesting that the translator changed the spelling of the author’s name.

Quick Note: After I typed this post, I found out that I am probably missing out on a variety of covers by only searching Goodreads. Cassandra Clare advertises some of the international covers of the Shadowhunters Chronicles.

>^..^<

That wraps up another BTT. What do you think of the covers above? Have you read the Mortal Instruments series or the rest of the Shadowhunters Chronicles? Let me know in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book I Want to Read Repeatedly

  1. I love your description of the Italian cover; sounds spot on, haha. I also really like the original US covers. I only read the first book (which I thought was pretty good for paranormal but not my preferred genre to read).

    1. It took me a couple of tries to get into City of Bones, and I think it was because of the writing style. Now I’m having a hard time getting into her spinoffs. I think it’s because their out of a setting that I don’t read about often.

Leave a Reply

