Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: Book That Originally Had a Blue Cover

This week’s Book Traveling Thursdays coincides with the final day of the Tome Topple Readathon, during which I’ve been reading Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon. Outlander originally had a blue a cover, which fits the theme for BTT.

I fell in love Starz’s Outlander a couple weekends ago, so I picked up Outlander for the readathon. There are so many pages and words. I’m liking it so far, but it’s going to take a while to read. If you don’t know what this is about, Outlander is about a British war nurse from 1945 who is on a second honeymoon with her husband. One night she is swept back to 18th-century Scotland. She becomes an outlander and lives with a clan where she is torn between fidelity and desire.

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme, hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you compare the covers of a book that fits the theme. Then you post the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite and your least favorite. You can link up and find the future themes on the Goodreads page. On to the covers!

Original Cover

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I’m reading the pocket-size edition with this cover. It’s a pretty enough cover, and it works for the genre and setting.

US Covers

Outlander Starz Tie-In and Dell Publishing

The U.S. has the original cover, but I decided to list only these two covers. The cover on the left is the Starz TV-show tie-in. I like it because the TV series got me into the book. The cover on the right is from Dell Publishing. I don’t like this one.

Honorable Mentions

Outlander Romanian, Latvian, Finnish

I’m surprised how many beautiful covers there are for Outlander. I love the Romanian cover (left) because it makes the time period and Scotland more personable than the other covers I saw. The Latvian cover (center) is simply magical. I love that it includes a stone circle, the girl, and the magical blue pattern. The 2013 Finnish cover (right) captures the magic and setting of where Claire travels back in time. It also reminds me of the title sequence from Season 1.

Favorite Cover

Outlander German

This cover is from a German edition. I love how it looks like an old diary. As much as I love the honorable-mention covers, I would rather have this cover on my shelves.

Least Favorite Cover

Outlander Least Favorite Covers

I can’t pick which is my least favorite, so I put them all here. The 2002 Finnish cover (top left) reminds me of the cover styles of the Daughters of the Moon series and the Guardians of Ga’Hoole series, and Outlander is not at all a MG or YA novel. The illustration does not help it, either. The Japanese cover (top center) makes the story look like it’s set in the desert. The Spanish cover (top right) looks like a forest fire, which might be relevant, but that does not make me want to read the book. I think the Norwegian cover (bottom left) is trying to give the impression that this is set in the Emerald Isle, despite it being set in the Scottish Highlands, but this looks more like an alien invasion to me. The Dutch cover (bottom right) looks outdated. It looks like the designers were brainstorming ideas for the cover and threw them all on.

>^..^<

I did not expect there to be such a variety for the Outlander covers. What do you think about the covers above?

If you have read or watched Outlander, what did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

