Book Tags

Six Degrees of Separation from Room to Alex & Eliza

Happy April Fool’s Day! I’m not pulling any pranks here. I wanted to try my hand at the monthly meme 6 Degrees of Separation, hosted by Kate @ Booksaremyfavoriteandbest. On the first Saturday of every month, readers and bloggers connect the selected book for the month to six other books, forming a chain. The books don’t all have to be related; each book only has to be related to the books next to it in the chain. You can also follow this meme on Twitter with the hashtag #6Degrees.

Room by Donoghue, The Road by McCarthy, The Handmaid's Tale by Atwood, The Giver by Lowry, The Wizard of Oz by Baum, Alexander Hamilton by Chernow, Alex and Eliza by de la Cruz

We start with Room by Emma Donoghue. Though I have not read this book yet, I know it’s about a boy, named Jack, and his mother who are imprisoned in a tiny room. They devise a plan to escape and survive. It’s about the “limitless bond between parent and child.”

Cormac McCarthy’s The Road is also about this bond in a post-apocalyptic United States. Father and son travel around the States with a cart of their things and try to avoid death. McCarthy has a tendency to write dialogue without quotation marks, which was surprising to me when I read The Road in high school.

Margaret Atwood writes her dialogue in Offred’s memories in The Handmaid’s Tale without quotation marks, similar to McCarthy. In this post-apocalyptic United States, Handmaids are women who are used only birth machines. The Handmaids’ lives are valuable only so long as their ovaries are viable. Until they give birth, they are at risk of being sent to the Colonies.

In The Giver, by Lois Lowry, one job assigned to some females is to birth three children (if I remember correctly) without raising them and then work in hard, manual labor for the rest of their lives. They are like the Handmaids in Atwood’s novel.

The Giver was adapted into a movie in 2014, which thankfully started in black-and-white and became colorful as the story progressed. I would have hated the movie if the producers had left out the revelation of color. This brings us to L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, which was filmed in black-and-white when Dorothy and Toto are in Kansas and in color when they’re in Oz. Though this is a delightful musical, it is an inaccurate adaptation of the book.

Lin-Manuel Miranda adapted the biography of  Alexander Hamilton, by Ron Chernow, into the musical titled Hamilton. Like Baum’s book, Chernow’s book was adapted into a musical. As you can garner from the title of both works, the book is about the life of Alexander Hamilton.

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story, by Melissa de la Cruz, is a historical fiction YA novel that focuses on the romance between Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler. I’m not sure that this book is historically accurate, but it stars Hamilton.

From the bond between parent and child to post apocalyptic worlds and musicals, Emma Donoghue’s Room is separated six degrees from Melissa de la Cruz’s Alex & Emma: A Love Story. What does your chain look like, starting with Room?

14 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation from Room to Alex & Eliza

    1. Thank you. I’ve come to understand that a book list shows books that are connected under one common thread (usually theme, author, subject-matter, etc.), but I thought this one made things interesting to only have to relate a book to the one before and after it. It was fun to make this. 🙂

    1. It was surprisingly fun. I thought I would get bogged down with trying to connect the books together because I can find that frustrating. It turned out to be fun! You should try it. What would you connect Room to?

      1. I haven’t read Room so my first instinct is to connect it to Donoghue’s new book The Lotterys Plus One. Though I haven’t read that one, either. I think it just came out about three days ago?

      2. I didn’t know about Donoghue’s new book. It looks interesting, but I think I would like to see it as a movie.

        Room is on my TBR list, and it’s sitting on my shelf collecting dust. I connected it based on the synopsis on Goodreads.

  1. Welcome aboard!

    I LOVE your clever link between The Road and Handmaid’s – must admit it has been a long time since I’ve read Handmaid’s so had forgotten about the punctuation style. Have been thinking about a re-read though, before the new tv miniseries is released.

    1. Thank you. This looked like a fun meme, and it was fun to do. I’m going to do this again next month.

      It’s always nice to refresh your memory before the adaptation is released. I haven’t been able to that very much the last couple of years, though.

  2. I read The Giver several years ago, but I just watched the movie on Netflix this past week. I thought it was a good adaptation. I keep hearing good things about The Handmaid’s Tale, so I should try to fit it into my reading.

    1. I liked The Giver movie too. I highly recommend that you read The Handmaid’s Tale. I loved it. I hope the TV series lives up to the novel and the hype.

  3. Yes, I think what I like about this meme is the variety you get by just hopping from one book to the next instead of listing books with an underlying theme. I actually put together two separate lists this month, one ending with Between Shades of Gray and the other ending with The Haters.

Leave a Reply

