Graphic Novel · Review · Science Fiction

America #1 | Comic Book Review

America No 1 MarvelWriter: Gabby Rivera
Penciler: Joe Quinones
Inkers: Joe Rivera & Paolo Rivera
Colorist: José Villarrubia
Publisher: Marvel
Pub. Date: March 1, 2017
Genre: Science Fiction, Comic Book
Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

America Chavez, a Latina superhero and the leader of the Ultimates, has decided to go to university. After saving the world from a new bad guy, she starts her first day at the university for superheroes. One professor seems to be out to get her, so she decides to make her assignment big and impressive. Marvel’s America #1 begins a new series for America Chavez.

I am not a fan of superheroes. The only superheroes I like are the ones that were on TV when I was little (Danny Phantom, Teen Titans, etc.). I knew a little bit about the traditional superheroes, like Batman and Superman, but I never joined the fandom or cared to learn more. In fact, I don’t read a lot of comic books either; I prefer the full-blown graphic novel.

I received this comic book for free at a presentation at school, and I was excited to give it a try. I did not like the comic, and I had a hard time getting into it. There was no story or plot to it. It strikes me as the first episode of a TV show where the superhero has to juggle school and superhero business, except every episode of a TV show has a plot.

There were not enough pages for the characters to develop. The closest would be America because she pauses to think about her mothers who sacrificed themselves. I am sure there will be more character development to come later in the series. Her girlfriend is also fairly developed, but she is not present for long in this comic. Some history was given to a past friend, but I feel like I am missing a lot of history.

The artwork was stunning. The characters are drawn well. The color schemes for each panel was on point. The panels changed to fit the setting and action. My favorite two-page spread is of the map of the college campus with a few scenes pasted on top.

I will not continue reading this series because I did not care for it and I am not the intended audience. I think others will like the series, but it is not for me.

3 thoughts on “America #1 | Comic Book Review

    1. I heard lots of excitement for her when I received the comic. She is strong and fearless from what I read and heard about her.

Leave a Reply

