Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: First Read of 2017

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much. Every week you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

The theme for this week is that a new year brings new books, so we had to choose our first read of 2017. I assume this theme meant the first book we started and finished in 2017, and that book for me was Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On. I love this book, and I want to start it over right now and reread it.

Original Cover

carry-on-by-rainbow-rowell

This cover is stunning, but my problem with it is that it reminds me of a contemporary realistic fiction cover.

US Covers

carry-on-us-covers

The left cover is the original. The center cover is a newer edition, and I haven’t seen it before. It doesn’t have the impact of the other covers, and it does not match the content of the book. I don’t like that these two covers make Rowell’s name larger than the title. Stephanie Orges explains the issue over this in a post on Be Kind Rewrite. The rightmost cover is the paperback edition that will be released in May. I love this cover. It has action, magic, and the leading men of the book.

Favorite Cover

carry-on-paperback

I love the color scheme and illustrations. It looks like a fantasy novel, unlike the original cover. It has a dragon, a wand, a sword, and a feel of magic. This may be my favorite cover, but I am more inclined to purchase the original cover because I want the map from its endpapers.

Least Favorite Cover

carry-on-color-cover

I don’t see much deviation from the original cover (there are only four covers to choose from), so I decided that my least favorite cover was the color-your-own dust jacket edition. I don’t like writing in my books, and I don’t want to color the dust jacket. If I am going to go to the trouble of coloring my dust jacket, I would rather redesign the whole thing.

A review of Carry On is coming soon. What is the first book you read this year (however you define it)? If you have read Carry On, what did you think of it?

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays: First Read of 2017

Leave a Reply

