Book Tags · Children's Literature

Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite Book of 2016

As the stress from the semester ends, I am free to blog and participate in weekly memes. It’s been too long since I last participated in Book Traveling Thursdays, so I decided to start again with the one that forces me to pick a favorite.

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much. Every week you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

This week’s theme requires that I choose my favorite book of 2016. I have read over 150 books this year. I have to pick between Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and A Tale Dark & Grimm by Adam Gidwitz. My problem is that Fangirl was read so recently, so my viewpoint is biased by the short gap between reading it and now. A Tale Dark & Grimm was one of my favorite books from the children’s literature course I took this semester. I will go with A Tale Dark & Grimm.

First in the A Tale Dark & Grimm trilogy, the middle grade book follows Hansel and Gretel after they run away from parents who are willing to chop off their own children’s heads. Their adventures mostly consist of living in other fairy tales. The narrator, who gives his own commentary in bold font, is hilarious, saying things like “send the children away now.”

Original/Favorite Cover

a-tale-dark-grimm-by-adam-gidwitz

The graphic color here wins it points, and it incorporates a lot of details from the story. I like this trend in fantasy book covers right now. I did read the book with this cover, but that does not affect my judgment on this being my favorite cover.

US Covers

 

The original U.S. Cover is my favorite, but the other one is on the opposite end of the spectrum for me.

Honorable Mentions

Both of these covers deserve mention because they are great. The first image is from Andersen Press, and I like the detail and action. I like that it uses more than four or five colors. The second cover is the French cover. It’s graphic and the color scheme works. The reason it is not my favorite is that it does not incorporate as much detail from the story. But it is stunning.

Least Favorite Cover

a-tale-dark-grimm-puffin

There is a reason that this American cover is not the best, and it is that it lost the magic of the book. Everything in the illustration looks like a still life. The evil creatures look comical. I would not pick up the book with this cover.

What is your favorite book of 2016? Have you compared its cover to other editions?

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite Book of 2016

Leave a Reply

