Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book Recommended and Loved

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much. Every week you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

This week’s theme: Sometimes we get great recommendations, so choose a book someone recommended to you that you loved.

I chose The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I have been recommended to read it several times, but the most recent recommendation came from a classmate in a children’s literature course. Last month I read it, and I loved it. It is an exquisite book that I refuse to part with.

Original Cover

the-book-thief-australia

This is a cool cover, but I would not have realized the book is set in Nazi Germany. Of course the cover is designed for an Australian audience. The font choice points to it being fantasy whereas the picture adds a hint of murder mystery. At least the color scheme goes with the narrator’s thoughts.

U.S. Covers

These are the covers I’m familiar with. The one on the left is shows the domino effect, but I remember seeing it years ago with a first impression being it has to do with board games or manipulation. Then I read the synopsis, putting it on my TBR list. The right cover came from the movie since we like to change book covers whenever they have been adapted to a movie or TV show.

Favorite Cover

the-book-thief-with-medal

This is another American book cover, but I think it changed the other American cover enough to be perfect. It is not perfect for showing everything in the story, but it makes me want to read it. A couple changes to the color scheme and resizing the font made it better.

Least Favorite Covers

The cover with children on it is written in Catalan/Valencian. There are children in the book, considering Liesel is the protagonist. Why are these children looking around the corner? What are they looking at? Maybe it has to do with the thieving gangs, but the cover does not fit the book. The Russian cover is bizarre. It has a slightly crispy book with a rose on it. I get the book burning reference, but I don’t understand how the rose plays into the story. I don’t remember roses in the book. Both covers are terrible for this novel.

After going through all of the covers, I now understand why it would be difficult to design a cover for this book. There is too much to convey on one cover. Major components are the books, the thievery, death, fear, and the setting. That is a tall order for any designer.

What books have you been recommended and loved? What do you think of The Book Thief if you have read or watched it? What do you think about the design process for book covers? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

