Author · Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: National Author’s Day

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blogand Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much. Every week you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

National Author’s Day was a couple of days ago, so I chose a book written by one of my favorite authors. One of my favorite authors is Carolyn Meyer, so I chose one of her many books about royals: Anastasia: The Last Grand Duchess, Russia, 1914. I unwittingly read a lot of her books in elementary school and junior high, but I loved every one that I read. This one book was one that my friend and I wrote about for extra credit in junior high.

Original Cover/US Cover

royal-diaries-anastasia-1

This is one of the many U.S. covers for this book as well as the original. From what I see on Goodreads, I don’t think this was published in other countries. I like this cover better than the others because it matches the rest of The Royal Diaries series.

Favorite Cover

royal-diaries-anastasia-2

I reluctantly say this is my favorite cover because the original cover is nostalgic for me and represents the era. This newer cover is striking, and I want to know more about this girl. It’s somewhat representative of the era with the artwork copying the portraits where the subjects look flat-chested. I’m thinking of the portrait of young Marie Antoinette. The con for me is that this cover does not show that it is an installment in a series.

Least Favorite Cover

royal-diaries-anastasia-3

This cover is dull. It looks like another book about a wedding, which is not at all the focus of the diary. I would not pick up the book now, and I would not have picked it up when I was twelve.

Who is one of your favorite authors? Have you read Carolyn Meyer’s books? Did you love the Royal Diaries series when you were younger? Let me know in the comments. Happy belated Author’s Day!

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays: National Author’s Day

Leave a Reply

