Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: World Smile Day

Book Traveling ThursdaysDon’t forget to smile tomorrow! It will be World Smile Day, which inspired this week’s Book Traveling Thursday.

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much. Every week you pick a book based on the theme of the week, and you post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

Because World Smile Day is tomorrow, the book for this week must be one that made you smile recently. That book for me is The Little Vampire by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg. I finished reading it earlier this week, and I laughed at Rudolph’s actions and words through most of the book. In one scene, though it was painful to read, it was funny how Rudolph ripped up Tony’s books but was excited to read vampire books, like Dracula. I also giggled when Rudolph climbed into his coffin with Tony and rubbed in how it could hold two people. Fun fact: Sommer-Bodenburg now lives in New Mexico.

Original Cover

the-little-vampire-german-cover

This is the German cover, though I am not sure if this is original cover. I hope a German cover suffices for the original since it was written in German. I like that it uses illustrations in the book, and it is colorful.

U.S. Covers

the-little-vampire-by-angela-sommer-bodenburg the-little-vampire-movie-cover

The cover on the left is very similar to the German cover while the one on the right is the same as the movie cover. They’re alright.

Favorite Cover

the-little-vampire-uk-cover

The U.K. cover here appeals to me more than the others because of the graphics and drawing. This cover is from this millenium, so it matches my tastes better. It has a cute but creepy vampire child. I like that it shows he can turn into a bat. That moon gives me a Halloween vibe, so it matches my Halloween mood right now.

Least Favorite Cover

the-little-vampire-german-movie-cover

Most of the other covers I saw on Goodreads were similar in using the same illustration as the German cover on their covers. This is my least favorite cover. One of the American covers is a movie cover book cover like this one, but I dislike the mashup of stills from the movie in this cover more than the other.

This book did not have many different covers to choose from, but I see why The Little Vampire is beloved in Germany and in the U.K. for its content. If you’re looking for a book to read this month, this book will leave a smile on your face—even if it has fangs.

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: World Smile Day

  1. That’s so cute! I love the original and all the others that look like it, the illustration is adorable and the book also sounds sweet! Is it a children’s book, middle grade or something else? I’m thinking it would be cool to try to read it in German to see how much I understand, although I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten all I learned in university 😛

    My BTT if you want to check it out 🙂

    1. Yeah, it’s a children’s book. I don’t think it’s middle grade because it seems to target a younger age group.

      I thought about trying that too. Now that I see what the English translation is like, I think I might be able to understand most of the German (I hope so anyway). I’ve gone a year without German, so I’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

