Book Tags

Book Traveling Thursdays: Book That Reminds You of Traveling

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at The Girl Who Read Too Much. Based on the theme of the week, you pick one book and post the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

This week’s theme is a book that makes you think about traveling. Maureen Johnson’s 13 Little Blue Envelopes is focused entirely on traveling all over Europe at the behest of Ginny’s deceased aunt. Like I said in my review, I want to do something like this for my nieces. The novel also reminds me of classic travel literature.

Original Cover/U.S. Cover

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

I love the original 2005 cover. I like that there is a girl on the cover, and I imagine she would have worn this outfit while traveling. The blue envelope makes a perfect background since everything is centered around those blue envelopes. The touch of that red and blue border reminds me of vintage British airmail envelopes.

Favorite Cover (Other Than the Original)

13 Little Blue Envelopes 2016 edition

This cover is on the 2016 edition of 13 Little Blue Envelopes. I like the more graphic nature of this cover, and that seems to be the artistic direction Contemporary YA is going, at least to my passive eyes. I also like that it includes all thirteen of the envelopes. The title reminds me of fountain pen videos on YouTube with the way the ink can behave. It also matches the newly released edition of The Last Little Blue Envelope.

Least Favorite Cover

Trinaest malih plavih omotnica

The Croatian cover looks like the cover a steampunk novel or a time travel novel. Though it is beautiful and includes locations Ginny visits, it misrepresents the genre.

Have you read 13 Little Blue Envelopes? What do you think of these covers? Which books remind you of traveling? If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Book That Reminds You of Traveling

  1. The original cover seems perfect for it and I love the 2016 cover as well! You’re right, now cover designs are focusing more on illustrations or playing with pictures and graphic elements. It’s interesting to notice that kind of artistic direction! If I could go anywhere in the world, I would go to Spain because that’s where I want to live. I would also love to visit India and eat some jalebi. How about you? 🙂
    My BTT.

    1. I would like to go to France or Germany because I would like to live there too. I would also like to visit Hell, Michigan, for the hot wings and Spain for the music and architecture.

      1. Oh I would also love to visit Germany, although I’ve seem to have forgotten all my German and it would probably be really embarrassing 😛

      2. I’ve forgotten a lot of German too, but I’ve heard the hallmark of language learning is being willing to make mistakes.

Leave a Reply

