Book Tags

Rapid Fire Book Tag

I found this tag on BookTube first, but I decided to do it after seeing it on Going Through Books. This tag was created by Girl Reading. I did my best to do this tag quickly.

E-Book or Physical Book?

Physical Book. It hurts my eyes after a while to read from a screen.

Paperback or Hardback?

Paperback. They’re cheaper, lighter, and feel better to hold. I just wish they were as durable as hardbacks.

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

In-Store. I prefer to see the book in person.

Trilogies or Series?

Trilogies. I’ve read too many series that take forever to finish because they are never ending, or I don’t feel inclined after a point to read them anymore. Prime examples are The House of Night series and the Maximum Ride series. Trilogies are more manageable, and I’m more inclined to finish them.

Heroes or Villains?

Heroes. I love the heroes.

A Book You Want Everyone to Read?

Chocolat by Joanne Harris.

Recommend an Underrated Book.

A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park. I haven’t seen this book anywhere since I read it in elementary school. I would call that pretty underrated, but it is wonderful. It’s the story of an orphan who wants to make pottery, and he helps his mentor gain a royal commission.

The Last Book You Bought.

In Search of Authority: An Introductory Guide to Literary Theory by Stephen Bonnycastle. It’s one of my textbooks for school.

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used As a Book Mark.

A packet of flower seeds.

Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes.

Top Three Favorite Genres.

  • Fantasy.
  • Historical Fiction.
  • Romance.

Borrow or Buy?

Buy. I like to own the books if I can.

Characters or Plot?

Characters. I would rather a character-driven plot because they act on the world.

Long or Short Books?

Long books. There’s more meat to the story. I like investing more time into a book, and I can do that more easily with long books. It’s a bigger bang for your buck.

Long or Short Chapters?

Long chapters. I feel like I get through books faster if the chapters are short, but I like reading longer chapters. Same reasoning as why I like long books.

Name the First Three Books You Think Of.

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

Cry. I like a good story that gets me so involved that I will cry if something happens to one of the characters.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional Worlds. Call it escapism if you want. I have always preferred fictional worlds to the “real” world.

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

No. I lose track of what is happening in the story because I stop paying attention.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Yes.

Book-to-Movie or Book-to-TV Adaptations?

Book-to-Movie. I would rather see the best possible production in one shot. I only see Starz and HBO make decent TV show adaptations, but I’ve watched only a few of those. I think more effort is put into making movies wonderful than into TV shows.

A Movie or TV Show You Preferred to Its Book?

Coraline. I rarely like the movie or TV show adaptation to its book. I might like them equally, but I never like the adaptation more. I think the Coraline movie was executed better than its book because I like the addition of Wybie and the simultaneous display of wonder and horror.

Series or Standalones?

Series. I like to explore more of the book’s world and learn more about the characters.

I tag:

If anyone else would like to participate in this tag, you are tagged too. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

