Book Tags · Nonfiction

Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite Nonfiction Book

Book Traveling ThursdaysBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at The Girl Who Read Too Much. Based on the theme of the week, you pick one book and post the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. If you would like to participate or find out more, check out the Goodreads page!

Because we don’t always read fiction, this week’s theme is to choose your favorite nonfiction book. This theme is hard because I seldom read nonfiction books. When I read anything nonfiction it’s usually an article or something I was required to read. When it happens to be a book, I usually pick something pertaining to spirituality, mythology, a memoir, or a specific area I’m researching.

Realms of the Earth Angels by Doreen Virtue is my choice. It’s one of the few nonfiction books I own, and I have referenced and reread it. Doreen Virtue’s Realms of the Earth Angels is a New Age, pocket-size book discussing the phenomena of Earth Angels. Because Doreen Virtue claims that lightworkers come from elsewhere, the book discusses the main and hybrid realms of lightworkers. The main realms are Incarnated Angels, Elementals, Wise Ones, and Starpeople.

Original Cover/Favorite Cover

Realms of the Earth Angels

Realms of the Earth Angels was published in the United States in 2007. I’m biased in picking this as my favorite because I’m used to this cover. I like that the illustration is surreal and very representative of the term “Earth Angel.”

U.S. Covers

I was surprised to learn that Doreen Virtue updated and revised the book at the end of 2014, resulting in the cover on the right. I don’t like that it only focuses on the Elementals by placing a fairy on the cover when there are three main realms and the hybrids. Sure, it’s colorful and whimsical, but it presents only one of the several realms. I would rather that she hadn’t changed the title. I wonder how much really changed. If she only added to the hybrid realms, I think she could have written a separate book about the hybrid realms.

Honorable Mention Covers

I included these honorable mentions because they are beautiful and because I could only find a handful of editions of the book. The German edition has a striking cover. The rainbow coming from the hands also incorporates the energy work (healing touch and reiki, for example) that many lightworkers do. Arguably, it focuses too much on angels, like Incarnated Angels, which makes the subject area misleading. I like that the image fills the whole cover of the Spanish edition. It’s bright and uplifting like the American cover. This cover also includes one of the hybrid realms.

Least Favorite Cover

Realms of the Earth Angels Portuguese
Portuguese

This is the Portuguese cover. It’s bland and unimaginative. It reminds me of Christian nonfiction, such as near death experiences involving angels or experiences with a specific church. This cover does not fit the genre.

One thing I learned about the nonfiction books I like is that the covers seem irrelevant to the publishers. There were few if any differences in most editions of the nonfiction books I considered using this week. Is it because they are nonfiction that the covers don’t change much? Is it because of the subject matter?

What is your favorite nonfiction book? Have you seen many differences in the covers of your favorite nonfiction book? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite Nonfiction Book

  1. I kind of disagree with you there, I like the Portuguese cover than the rest. 😦 I easily get turned off or scared with painting murals. 😦
    Anyway, good Book Traveling Thursday! Love it! I shall decide if I can add this to my TBR. 😀

Leave a Reply

