Nonfiction · Review

The Amazing Book Is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester

Amazing Book Is Not on Fire by Dan and PhilSynopsis from Back Cover:

Hello Reader,

In your hands is a book created by two awkward guys who share their lives on the Internet.

We are DAN and PHIL, and we invite you on a behind-the-scenes journey into our world!

IN HERE YOU WILL DISCOVER:

  • Stories from Phil’s teenage diary and all the reasons why Dan’s a fail
  • Advice on how to make YouTube videos
  • How to draw the perfect cat whiskers
  • Which of our dining room chairs represents you emotionally
  • The story of the time we met One Direction and what really happens in Vegas . . .

This is THE AMAZING BOOK IS NOT ON FIRE

(Even if you never read this, it’s a cool-looking coaster, right?)

Review:

The Amazing Book Is Not on Fire, by Dan Howell and Phil Lester, is the record of all things that make up the World of Dan and Phil. It includes a quiz, fan art, and stories and images we have probably never seen before.

Here is the official book reveal trailer:

This year, 2015, must be the Year of YouTubers Becoming Authors. Zoella, Shane Dawson, Joey Graceffa, Tyler Oakley and all these other YouTubers decided to publish books. I haven’t really wanted to read any of their books unless I stumbled upon it as a good sale or if I could borrow it. Suddenly I found a notification that there was a new danisnotonfire video. Danisnotonfire and AmazingPhil also wrote a book! Here is The Dan and Phil BOOK & TOUR video:

The video made me want to read the book, but I didn’t want to buy it. I checked if the local library had a copy. It did, so I checked it out. I found it amazing as a fan of Dan and Phil. I liked learning more backstory and stories about events fans know and don’t know. However, I’m not sure if it would be interesting to someone who is not a fan.

I wish the library binding of the hardcover resembled the trailer’s book binding. I like dust jackets. If a book has it, I try to keep it. If it originally had a dust jacket, the library removed it. Otherwise the book looks as advertised. I love the graphic title and synopsis. The synopsis is written in letter form but in a speech bubble.

The book is not organized in a particular order like some other biographical books. It’s graphic. Like things are kept with like things. Fan art is near the fan fiction. Pre-YouTube events are together at the beginning. It would have been nice if there was a table of contents, but almost every page is different from the one before it. It would be too daunting to keep track of all of them. Idea: close your eyes and randomly pick a page to read.

I want to go over a few highlights. One of them is the quiz “Which Phil and Dan Dining Chair Are You?” I am the blue chair. I liked the evolution of their hairstyles. One thing I found funny was the Roommate Assessment forms they filled out on each other. I also liked their commentary on some of the odd behaviors they found, and they “Meet Expectations.” There are a couple of “useful” sections, such as how to care for a hamster and how to start your own YouTube channel. Some of these could be applied to starting a blog or an Instagram account.

Dan and Phil maintained the conversational tone like they have in their videos. I read the book in their voices. Maybe I’ve watched too many of their videos. Nah!

I recommend The Amazing Book Is Not on Fire to fans of danisnotonfire, AmazingPhil and any of their side channels. I also recommend it to anyone who wants read YouTuber books.

Genre: Nonfiction, Biography, Humor

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

One thought on “The Amazing Book Is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester

Leave a Reply

