Book Tags

Reading Habits Tag

I’m back! It feels like forever since I last posted anything, especially a review — I will post one tomorrow. I’ve been busy with school, but the semester is over. Since I have been horrible for the last month or so for not posting very much, I’ve decided to do the Reading Habits Tag. This tag was created by TheBookJazz and has been popular for weeks now, so I decided to do it. Let’s get started!

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Yes, my bed.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I don’t use bookmarks often because I usually remember the page number or chapter. When I do mark my place, I tend to use a real bookmark.

Can you stop reading or do you have to wait until you finish a chapter?

I have to finish a chapter or wait for a break in the text.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I only drink water or coffee while reading. Food tends to get messy, and I don’t want to get food on my books.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I can have music playing or the TV on while reading, but I can’t focus on either of them while reading. I usually have music playing, and for the last year, the theme of the song has to be related to what I’m reading. For example, I had Zedd’s “Clarity” stuck in my head while reading City of Heavenly Fire. It had to play whenever I had access to a computer.

One book at a time or several at once?

Several at once. Always. But I find it harder to keep track if I have to pause reading any of them for too long.

Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere. I am never without reading material.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I read silently, but if I find something exciting or interesting, I will read it out loud. There was a little girl at the library book sale last week who was so excited about what she was reading she had to share it. She came over to the room my mom and I were going through books in and started reading to us. It was so sweet. And it was refreshing to meet a child that excited about what she was reading.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Not anymore. I used to read ahead, but then it became disappointing to know what was going to happen. The closest I get to that anymore is picking a random page when looking at a book to see if I could get into it.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Keep it like new.

Do you write in your books?

No. Even when we were given permission to write in textbooks or novels in an English class, I refused. It feels like a sin if I write in a book (journals are exceptions of course).

If you do this tag, please leave a link in the comments and I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

