Book Tags

Coffee Book Tag

I’m very sorry about disappearing, mostly without notice, from the Internet. I have been busy with school. Even spring break was busy. I’ve also been in a reading slump, and I have two (soon to be three) reviews that I need to post. We’ll get those up in the next week, hopefully!

In the mean time, I’m going to do the Coffee Book Tag, created by BangadyBangz on YouTube. I first saw the tag on Benjaminoftomes‘ channel. I love books and coffee – I practically lived in one while in high school – so this is the perfect tag. Now, on to the book tag!

Black coffee – Pick a series that is hard to get into but has hardcore fans.

I was torn between three series; two of which require a lot of time to read. I finally settled on George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire. Most people became a fan of this series because of HBO’s Game of Thrones series, and most haven’t actually read the books. All of Martin’s books are masterpieces, at least I assume so. I’m ashamed to admit I have only read the first book, A Game of Thrones. I’ve closely followed the televisions series (the next season starts in two weeks), but I can’t read the rest of the series. They are too far down my TBR list, partly due to the amount of time the books require. To make matters worse, I own all five books.

Despite my failures as a fan, I know A Song of Ice and Fire has a huge fan base. Many of its fans have read the books and will defend the series to the death. I guess this is a perfect time to resolve to read at least A Clash of Kings before the end of the year. Anyway, be better than me and read the series. Based on the show and the readers’ love, this is a fantastic, dark series that no one should pass up reading.

Peppermint mocha – Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Let It Snow CoverMy peppermint mocha is Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle. I first read this around Christmas, and it is on my TBR list for next winter. Green, Johnson, and Myracle each wrote a story that created an interconnected tale of love set in a snow storm at Christmas. I haven’t seen the book in years, but I’ve wanted to read it every time the holidays come around. I was excited to find a new edition of it at Albertsons, and bought it. I look forward to reading it when it’s cold when the characters are in a snow storm. Or I might read it when it’s superhot in an attempt to cool off (iced mocha?).

Hot chocolate – What is your favorite childhood book?

I, CorianderI feel like it’s cheating to say the Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone because I use it a lot. So, I’m picking I, Coriander, by Sally Gardner. I, Coriander combines fairy tale magic and a piece of history to show a little girl’s struggle for survival and happiness. Coriander had a joyful life until her mother passed away. Then everything went to hell. Her father brings in an evil stepmother who abuses Coriander, with the help of a minister, while her father is gone. She is ready to give up once she’s locked in a chest until her magic comes out to save her. I still think on certain themes and aspects of the book. Time works differently in other dimensions. Fairy tales are true, at least the ones her mother told her. Coriander’s mother had painted stories on Coriander’s bedroom walls. It’s also pretty horrifying what her remaining guardian does to her, so I love watching her overcome this adversity.

Double shot of espresso – Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

City of Heavenly Fire CoverCity of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I devoured this book in a day. I was lucky to not have had much going on that week. Nothing else held interest. I hated putting it down for any amount of time. City of Heavenly Fire marks the end of The Mortal Instruments series, and I was hyped up for everything that was going to happen, joining debates about who would probably die. There was a lot of (dark) detail. It was epic! Clare wrote one of the best series finales ever. Read the book, but I recommend starting with City of Bones.

Starbucks – Name a book that you see everywhere.

InsurgentInsurgent by Veronica Roth. This book has been everywhere – the university bookstore, Wal-Mart, Albertsons, used book sales, etc. – since at least a week prior to its film adaptation’s release in theaters. I will check it out this weekend or next. As the sequel to Divergent, it continues with Tris and Four seeking refuge with the remaining factions. Tris and Four’s relationship becomes strained. Lies, betrayal, romance, rebellion. A perfect read that I hope translates well to the big screen. I wonder how long it will take for this novel to fade from the shelves.

Hipster Coffee Shop – Give an indie author a shout out!

Blood Lines by Simone KingThe author I would like to give a shout out to is Simone King, author of Blood Lines. Blood Lines is not another vampire novel. It is a completely new fantasy world with an awesome, powerful heroine. Unfortunately, this is the only book she has published. I wish she would publish the sequel to this so we could get more into her series.

The UK author is known as The Fictionist on FanFiction.Net. I love every one of her Harry Potter fanfics. I wish she would publish more of her original work. Definitely check her out.

Oops! I accidentally ordered decaf…. – Name a book you were expecting more from.

The Last GirlI expected more form The Last Girl, by Riley Shasteen, which was published by a teen writing site in the UK. I like reading a lot of contemporary novels, but I thought the plot was more or less interesting. It disappointed me mainly because Movellas (the publishing site) advertised it so heavily for it not to have been a good read for me. I’m happy Shasteen got published, but her book was not as well-written as I would have liked for all of the hype.

The Perfect Blend – Name a book or a series that was both bitter and sweet and ultimately satisfying.

Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series. Clare wrote the perfect blend of bitter and sweet in these books. Each book had sweet moments between the characters and others sweet, especially in the last half of the series. The themes and the dark are woven together perfectly.

I don’t know any book bloggers that do book tags. If you decide to do this tag, leave a link in the comments and I will check it out.

4 thoughts on “Coffee Book Tag

  1. What’s Bloodlines about? It sounds pretty interesting. Well the words strong heroine definitely peaked my interest. 😀 And i’ll have to check out I, Coriander.

    1. Blood Lines features a strong-willed girl who joined the one rebellious group that wants equality between the Overworld (humans, magical and not) and Underworld variations (demons, vampires, etc.). Susannah, the protagonist, finds it harder with every mission to hide her powers from the ruler of the Underworld. Two themes are loyalty and equality.

Leave a Reply

