Thoughts

Why I like libraries

Blog 4 Phil

Paperback Books by juliaf is licensed under CC BY 2.0Paperback Books by juliaf is licensed under CC BY 2.0

In high school I wasn’t much of a reader. While I enjoyed English class and most of the books I had to read for it, I never picked up a novel in my free time. I remember telling myself that I didn’t have to read outside of school in order to be a good writer, that I was better off being ignorant because then I wouldn’t be influenced by other writers and therefore I would be more original.

Yeah, I was an idiot.

The summer before my first semester of college, I went to the library to check out some books. I can’t remember why I suddenly had the urge to read for fun, but I do remember feeling lots of anxiety that summer as I pondered my future and wondered if I could succeed in college. I also know…

View original post 601 more words

Leave a Reply

