Contemporary Realistic Fiction · Review · Young Adult

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our StarsYes, I know I’m behind on the trend to have read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. I saw my classmates read it this year. I felt this was going to be overhyped, so I chose to avoid it altogether. Then when the movie was released in theaters and when I heard good things about it, I decided to borrow the ebook from the library. Of course, there was a long waiting list at that point, so I didn’t get to start reading this until a few days ago.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Review:

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green, is amusing love story about two cancer patients, Hazel and August. Hazel has been living a dull life consisting of a hovering mom and fighting cancer, or in the words of Augustus, she’s been living as one of those people “who become their disease.” Then one day of Cancer Kid Support Group in “the Literal Heart of Jesus,” she meets Augustus Waters. They go on to become close friends and spend much of their time together. This is mainly a teen romance with the shadow of their cancers slowly winning (since most cancer patients die of cancer, even if cells are found to be undetectable).

Several characters show growth. Hazel, Augustus, and Isaac (the boy with eye cancer) hold special places in my heart. I love their witty banter, their moments of just being teenagers, and their moments of great insight. Peter Van Houten is a downright jerk – read and you will know why. (As a quick side-note: I was very upset to find An Imperial Affliction by Van Houten – a foreshadowing – does not exist for us to read.)

The title is great. I saw a discussion on Goodreads about the significance of the title. It’s something you have to think about. A good clue is when Peter Van Houten cites the Shakespearean quote: “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars/But in ourselves.”

Besides the effects of dying and death, a theme I found is fate versus choice – more favor in the book is given to fate. Two clues: the Shakespearean quote and star-crossed lovers.

I read this in an ebook format, but this time I tried EPUB instead of the Kindle format. All of the links within the text were broken. I don’t know whether it’s because I read it through an app that allows me to read EPUB or it’s universal flaw in its EPUB format. The app also made it impossible to highlight anything other than one word for a definition. Otherwise, I found no grammar, spelling, nor formatting errors.

The novel exceeded expectations. It was a quick, quotable read. This was beautiful, and I wish this was still in theaters so I could see it. Now I’ll have to wait for its DVD release. I recommend this to everyone.

Genres: Contemporary YA

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

One thought on “The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Leave a Reply

