Thoughts

Do You Want Or Love Me?

In Blood Promise by Richelle Mead, Rose has been asking Dimitri (the Strigoi) why he wants to awaken her. The first time she ever asked, she was still high on the endorphins of Dimitri’s bites. To help keep herself out of this daze, she keeps asking herself and Dimitri why. Here is one of the times she asks him (pg. 394-395):

“Tell me again. One more time. Why do you want to awaken me so badly?”

A slightly weary look crossed his face. “Because I want you. I’ve always wanted you.”

And that’s when I knew. I finally realized the problem. He’d given that same answer over and over, and each time, something about it had bothered me. I’d never been able to pinpoint it, though. Now I could. He wanted me. Wanted me in the way people wanted possessions or collectibles. The Dimitri I’d known . . . would have said he wanted us to be together because he loved me. There was no love here.

Just an overall lesson in love and romance. Whenever your sweet heart asks you why you want them to do something, or even just why you want them, you don’t say the reason is that you want them. That answer is not good enough. The real reasonbetter be that you love that person, not that you want them.

Everything you do for the person you love, better be because you love them not because you want them.

Leave a Reply

