Technology

The E-book: An Advantage or a Disadvantage?

We keep seeing leaps in technology. One of these leaps is being able to read a book on a computer. We have companies like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Apple. Books can now be read on a tablet and stored in vast libraries–libraries that are in gigabytes, rather than a tangible substance.

My opinion of e-books has been changing for a while. Let’s look at its advantages and disadvantages. After this, you will formulate an opinion about e-books in general.

Advantages

  • Relocate sections you have marked or highlated.
  • Take notes without running out of margin space.
  • Built-in electronic dictionary.
  • Can be read in the dark.
  • Can be downloaded in seconds and there are no shipping fees.
  • Multimedia format.
  • Low update cost.
  • One can have a vast library of books saved in a small amount of space.
  • The e-books can be much cheaper than the printed books.

Disadvantages

  • Printing cost (some will print out the book instead, so they shoulder the cost).
  • Piracy is much higher.
  • Some people don’t want to read a book off of a computer screen.
  • Certain hardware or software may be needed (the e-book relies on this), which may or may not be very easy to attain.
  • E-readers are expensive to buy and maintain.
  • Screen glare, flashing lights, and eye strain.
  • Hardware and software can become outdated quickly.
  • Cognitively, it is harder to remember where something is on the e-book page than on a paper page.
  • The e-books can cost as much as the printed books.

Clearly, they have some advantages and disadvantages. I hope this has helped you form an opinion about e-books. Happy reading!

Bibliography

7 thoughts on “The E-book: An Advantage or a Disadvantage?

  1. I’d argue with you on the piracy part; if the definition of piracy is reading a book without having paid for it, then every time you borrow and lend books between friends you are practicing piracy. This is something actually made much more difficult to do via eBook (whether it be good or bad). I’ve personally come to love reading on my iPad as a way of discovering books I would never have otherwise picked up; I still maintain a love for the printed page if it’s a book I hold dear.

    1. One of the sources said that the piracy comes in for authors, because they claim that you could e-mail them to someone. I. personally, like to share some books so I don’t see why we can’t do that with e-books.

      1. I suppose the concern might be the COPYING of the book, rather than simply the loaning. When you give someone a book, you don’t have it anymore; creating a new digital copy could be seen as the equivalent of stealing a new copy from a bookstore. I guess.

  2. great post! I love book but E-books would be great for travelling! Do you have a personal favourite? Or are you undecided?

    1. If you mean what my favorite book is, I’m torn between Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling and City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. As far as E-books, I think they can be useful. I still love curling up with a good book, though. I suppose I am undecided about the whole issue.

  3. You have some good points for advantages and disadvantages to eBooks. However, I’ve found that reading off of my tablet allows me to read longer because I can change the backlight levels and text sizes as my eyes grow tired. The one thing that has and will continue to bother me is that eBooks tend to stay in the same price range as hard copies. I’ve also found inconsistent editing in eBooks compared to hard copy versions.

Leave a Reply

